Can You Use Revolut Card in Dubai?

Revolut card is quite popular thanks to their various benefits. From speed to ease of use, customers have many reasons to use it.

It explains why millions of people use its services. They also want to enjoy its pocket-friendliness.

Its support for major currencies is also a plus. However, some things about it remain a mystery.

For example, can you use Revolut Card in Dubai? Let’s find out and learn more about it.

Which Countries Can One Use a Revolut Card In?

There are a few countries where Revolut serves its residents. They include the following;

  • Australia
  • European Economic Area (EEA)
  • Japan
  • Singapore
  • Switzerland
  • The United Kingdom (UK)
  • The United States (US)

Can You Use Revolut Internationally?

If the list of countries is that short, does it mean that you can’t use it internationally? That’s far from the truth despite that.

The service of sending money to one’s bank account using Revolut’s interbank exchange rate is available in more than 150 countries. Equally important, the transfers won’t cost you a dime.

This service allows you to transact in 30 currencies which is quite impressive. You can also send money to friends, banks and companies depending on your current needs.

Can I Use Revolut Card in Dubai?

See also  Best Car Rental Services/Companies In Dubai

The card is usable internationally and United Arab Emirates (UAE) including Dubai is no exception. Follow these steps to get this card;

  1. Open the Revolut app
  2. Navigate to the Cards -> Add new card by swiping right
  3. Choose a real or virtual card
  4. Select your card’s features
  5. Create a 4-digit pin and confirm it
  6. Finally, tap Continue

The card will arrive in Dubai within 10 working days. Upon receiving your card, enter its information to get going.

The set up of a virtual card takes a few seconds. It is also free and doesn’t have a pin or any security feature.

For that reason, one can’t use the virtual card to withdraw money from an ATM. Equally important, not all payment terminals will accept it.

Despite lack of these security features, its characteristics are enough to handle fraud squarely. After all, it is disposable hence easy to change or remove one after several months.

Besides, the card number changes as soon as you transact. That’s why it is ideal for preventing fraud.

As for these virtual cards, follow these steps

Go to Cards

Choose “Virtual” on its top right side

Tap “Get Virtual” to apply for the card

How Can You Transfer Money from Dubai to Revolut

It is the same for any other part of UAE. Ensure that you have the username or the phone number of that particular recipient.

You also need other details including the cardholder’s full name and the card number. If the bank transfer is international, you will also need an IBAN and a SWIFT/BIC code.

Bank transfers and card transfers are available. However, card transactions only apply to a few.

See also  What To Do At Crocodile Park Dubai?

Sending AED is possible to both UAE and non-UAE recipients. However, you incur high costs when sending to the latter.

Card transfer take around 30 minutes and AED transactions can take between 3 and 5 business days to complete.

Revolut Send Limits

Transfer limits don’t apply for most currencies. However, it is normal for payment partners to place them although not for all currencies for compliance.

If you are transferring to a Visa card, you won’t exceed $2500 for a single transaction. On the other hand, the limit for a Mastercard card is $5000.

Various Revolt Cards

There are three types of Revolt cards

Revolut Standard

It is a free card with the following features;

  • Standard card delivery
  • Fee-free ATM withdrawals of up to $1200 per month
  • Fee-free currency exchanges of up to $1000 per month
  • 10 fee-free international transfers every month

Revolut Premium

Card owners pay $9.99 per month and enjoy the following features;

  • Express card delivery
  • Fee-free ATM withdrawals of up to $1200 per month
  • Unlimited currency exchanges per month
  • 10 fee-free international transfers every month
  • Priority customer support
  • Travel medical insurance

Revolut Metal

Card owners pay $16.99 per month and enjoy the following features;

  • Express card delivery
  • Fee-free ATM withdrawals of up to $1200 per month
  • Unlimited currency exchanges per month
  • 10 fee-free international transfers every month
  • Priority customer support
  • Travel medical insurance
  • Flight and baggage delay insurance

Which Currencies Can You Use when Transferring Money Using Revolut?

  • AED
  • AUD
  • BGN
  • CAD
  • CHF
  • CZK
  • DKK
  • EUR
  • GBP
  • HKD
  • HUF
  • ILS
  • JPY
  • MXN
  • NOK
  • NZD
  • PLN
  • QAR
  • RON
  • SAR
  • SEK
  • SGD
  • THB
  • TRY
  • USD
  • ZAR
See also  How Much Does Water Cost in Dubai?

How Will Revolut Tell the Ideal Currency?

The payment currency of a particular transaction determines the currency that your Revolut card will use. Therefore, if you are in the United States and have a USD transaction, the card will deduct money from the corresponding wallet.

If your USD balance is inadequate to facilitate the payment, the card shifts to the next active currency with sufficient balance. When it comes to currency conversions, the USD base currency depends on your location.

The bottom line is that you don’t need to purchase other currencies let’s say even when travelling enough. As long as the balance is sufficient, the transaction will succeed regardless of the currency.

Nevertheless, an issue may arise if you have several currency balances but none of it have enough money for the transaction. It is in no position to add the various balances in different wallets to facilitate the payment.

Which Countries Does Revolut Not Support Transfers To?

You will not be in a position to transfer money using Revolut when residing in the following countries and territories.

  • Zimbabwe
  • Zaporizhzhia
  • Yemen
  • Venezuela (Bolivarian Republic)
  • Vanuatu
  • Tunisia, Uganda
  • Trinidad and Tobago
  • Timor-Leste
  • Tajikistan
  • Syrian Arab Republic (Syria)
  • Swaziland
  • Sudan
  • State of Palestine
  • Sri Lanka
  • South Sudan
  • Somalia
  • Sierra Leone
  • Sevastopol
  • Russia
  • Panama
  • Palau
  • Pakistan
  • North Korea
  • Nigeria
  • Myanmar
  • Mozambique
  • Luhansk
  • Libya
  • Liberia
  • Lebanon
  • Lao PDR
  • Kherson
  • Islamic Republic of Iran
  • Iraq
  • Haiti
  • Guyana
  • Guinea-Bissau
  • Guinea
  • Ethiopia
  • Eritrea
  • Egypt
  • Donetsk
  • Cuba
  • Crimea
  • Crimea
  • Côte d’Ivoire
  • Congo (the Democratic Republic of)
  • Central African Republic
  • Cambodia
  • Burundi
  • Burkina Faso
  • Bolivia
  • Belarus
  • Bahamas
  • Algeria
  • Afghanistan


Recent Posts

Sign up for our Newsletter